Oscar Peñas Jazz Guitarist New Album MUSIC OF DEPARTURES AND RETURNS (2014)
1. Paquito’s Choro 01_Paquito’s Choro
2. Rabo de Nube
3. Skylark
4. Paco 04_Paco
5. The Everyday Struggle 05_The Everyday Struggle
6. Etude No. 1
7. Rain
8. Cançó No. 6

“Suite Almadraba,” (2017) is an intriguing new compositions where the jazz, classical and popular driven styles, interact with Iberian traditions composed by guitarist Oscar Peñas.

Oscar Peñas wish to let you know that do to unforeseen circumstances, Camerata Romeu won’t be in the project engagement as previously announced. We are both comfortable with this decision. In lieu, “Suite Almadraba,” composed by guitarist Oscar Peñas, will be performed and recorded live by Peñas, accompanied by pianist Frank Carlberg and the 2015 Grammy Nominees chamber ensemble Solistas de la Habana, member of Cuba’s National Symphonic Orchestra conducted by its founder and Artistic Director, Maestro Ivan Valiente Valdés.Venue TBA November 12th, 2016 at 6:00 PM.

“Suite Almadraba” will not only provide Peñas with an opportunity to work and share experiences with a world-renowned classical ensemble, members of the Cuba’s National Symphonic Orchestra for first time, but it will also raise the awareness of an environmentally friendly trap-fishing method, which is one of the oldest in the world that has not changed since its inception.

If you would like to be part of the “Suite Almadraba” contributing with a donation to cultural exchange in the language of music with Cuba, you can make it through Fracture Atlas our fiscal sponsor organization. Remember that your gift is tax-deductible!

“Crossroads” (2016) Crossroads is the new jazz-fusion band lead by guitarist Oscar Peñas. The project was premiered at Dizzy’s Club Coca Cola in NYC on Feb. 1st, 2016 and it features Gregoire Maret on harmonica, Moto Fukushima on bass, Pete Rende on piano and Richie Barshay on drums.
Crossroads’ sound captures Peñas’ consistent technique, a rare sensibility seen in jazz. His lower intensity facilitates him to shade tunes with meaning and subtlety, a refreshing musical approach in today’s over amplified jazz world.
Oscar’s cultural mixing and crossover melodies are clearly represented in this varied repertoire of originals recorded live at Dizzy’s. More coming soon!

Interview with Xavi Bundó at Via Lliure RAC 1 Sunday, May 3, 2015

” Music of Departures and Returns is an enjoyable collection of styles and sounds from around the world presented with heart felt joy and clarity. The music will certainly leave the listener with a joyful and playful feeling; Peñas’ focus on making good heartfelt music is a breath of fresh air.” – H. Allen Williams, JazzTimes

“…the album displays Peñas’s confident and clear phrasing, which is cast into high relief through interplay with Caswell’s violin.” – Tim Wilkins, WBGO

“Peñas practices economical simplicity, displaying astute prowess commendable for its modesty and ease.” – Bob Gendron, Downbeat Magazine (4 stars)

Peñas is a gifted writer, composer and a band leader…”  Steven Rosenfeld, ASCAP

Mr. Peñas, a crisp Catalan guitarist, has a new album, “Music of Departures and Returns,” that suggests a personal spin not only through the music of his heritage but also that of Cuba and the Americas.” – Nate Chinen, NY

Catalan-American guitarist, composer and bandleader Oscar Peñas´ fourth album and second release in the United States, Music of Departures and Returns, includes a Brazilian choro and a tribute to flamenco master Paco de Lucia; a jazz standard and a classic from the Cuban Nueva Trova songbook; and music by the great Catalonian composer Frederic Mompou. Yet this is neither a music sampler nor a showcase of Peñas´talents in different settings and styles.
“This is more or less who I am. I’m not trying to push boundaries, prove anything or show off in any way,” explains Peñas. “It’s a collection of pieces, some mine, some by other composers that I have always admired, that I felt had a common mood, a certain sound that reflects my personality and where I come from.”
Music of Departures and Returns features his quartet, comprised of his long-standing rhythm section featuring six-string electric bassist Moto Fukushima, drummer Richie Barshay, and violinist Sara Caswell. The band is augmented by special guests such as bassist and singer Esperanza Spalding, reedman Paquito D’Rivera and pianist, producer and arranger Gil Goldstein who appears on accordion.


Date City Venue Country
Friday, September 30th 2016 Washington, DC Atlas Performing Arts Center United States
Time: 8:00 pm. Admission: $28.00. Address: 1333 H Street NE. Venue phone: 202.399.7993 ext. 2. Buy Tickets
Friday, October 21st 2016 Old Lyme, Connecticut The Side Door United States
Time: 7:00 pm. Admission: $35.00. Box office: (860) 434-0886. Address: 85 Lyme Street. Venue phone: 860-434-0886. Buy Tickets
Saturday, November 12th 2016 Ciudad de la Habana Venue TBA Cuba
Time: 6:00 pm. Fractured Atlas is a non-profit organization and your donation today helps build our programs – please join us on this journey supporting Oscar Peñas making your tax-deductible donation. More information

Subscribe: RSS | iCal